Driving Offence Codes

February 1, 2013 by  
Filed under Transport

Driving Offence Codes And The Penalty Points System

Penalty points can only be added to your licence where allowed by statute.  The most common example nowadays is penalty points for speeding, which range from 3 to 6.

The general rule is that the penalty points remain active for 3 years.  The DVLA approach requires the record of points to be kept on the licence for at least 4 years.

See a complete list of all driving licence offence codes at Patterson Law here.  After that you can apply to the DVLA to have those points removed.

driving offence codes


Accident offences

Remain on the licence for 4 years from the date of the offence:

AC10  Failing to stop after an accident (5-10 points)
AC20  Failing to give particulars or to report an accident within 24 hours (5-10 points)
AC30  Undefined accident offences (4-9 points)

Disqualified driver

Remain on the licence for 4 years from the date of the offence:

BA10  Driving while disqualified by order of court (6 points)
BA30  Attempting to drive while disqualified by order of court (6 points)


Failing to report an accident

  • DVLA code AC20
  • Drivers are obliged to stop after being involved in an accident, however if you do not stop and give your details at the scene then you must report the incident at a police station as soon as possible, or in any event within 24 hours

The law states that the driver must report the accident in person, and must produce a certificate of insurance within seven days of the accident.

Penalties for failing to report an accident are as serious as those for failing to stop after an accident, and include a fine of up to £5,000 with a prison sentence of up to six months. The offence also carries a license endorsement of between five and ten penalty points.


Comments are closed.